Wtorek / Tuesday

Tradycją Tratwy są wiczorne spotkania, w których biorą udział zarówno muzycy, jak i seminarzyści. Gospodarzem wtorkowego spotkania był Mikołaj Trzaska i zaproszeni przez niego przyjaciele.

Evening meetings are The Musicians’ Raft tradition in which musicians, as well as scholars take part. The host of the Tuesday meeting was Mikołaj Trzaska and his guests.

– Pod koniec lat 80, gdy chylił się system polityczny, razem z przyjaciółmi postanowiłem złamać jazzowy mainstream. Wtedy poprzysięgłem sobie, że będę grał tylko taką muzykę, którą pragnę grać. Ma ona wiele wspólnego z muzyką żydwoską, choć z pewnego punktu widzenia tak nie brzmi.(…) Ta muzyka jest po to by, spotkać się z kimś ważnym w sobie, kiedy widzisz, że nie jesteś sam. Taki jest głęboki sens muzyki żydowskiej. Jest to forma egzystencji w jednym momencie. Wymyśliłem, że zaproszę muzyków mających związek z muzyką żydowską, albo tak wrażliwych, że tego nie potrzebują.

– At the end of the 80s, when political system was collapsing, together with friends we have made a decision to break the jazz mainstream. I promised myself then, that I am only going to play music that I really like. It shares many things with Jewish music, though it does not sounds like one at all from some point of view (…) This music is created to celebrate meeting with somebody important in yourself, when you see you are not alone. Jewish music has this deeper meaning under the outer layer. At the same time it is a some sort of existence. I thought I would invite musicians that has some connection with Jewish music, or so wrażliwych that they do not need to have any connection at all.

Mikołaj Trzaska

To niesamowita sytuacja w której się znajdujemy, bo nie wiedziałem, że jest coś żydowskiego w Sejnach. (…) Nie uważam religii za nic ważnego w moim życiu i bardzo nie lubię, gdy ktoś próbuje mnie zdefiniować. To sprawia, że w naturalny sposób, poszukiwałem innych form relacji z innymi ludźmi i muzyka była ważnym jej rodzajem. To piękne mieć religię, ale uważam, że przez tysiące lat istnienia religie straciły coś ze swej duchowości. Mam nadzieję, że kiedyś będę mógł dotrzeć do prawdziwych korzeni tego co ważne w wyznaniach i co pozwoli nam się spotkać jako ludzkości (…) Bardzo cieszę się dośwadczeniem i spotkaniem z muzykami tutaj, bo prawdę mówiąc nie widziałem czego się spodziewać.

It is a extraoridinary situation we participate in, since I did not know that there is anything Jewish in Sejny (…) I do not percieve religion as something important in my life and I extremely do not like when somebody tries to define me. This makes me to look for different forms of interaction with other people and music was one of important means of that interaction. It is beautiful to have religion, but I think that believes throughout thousands years of existence lost something spiritual in them. I hope that some day I will be able to reach the very roots of what is important in believes and it will allow us to gather as the humanity (…) I am very glad of this experience and meeting musicians in this place, because, frankly speaking, I did not know what to expect of this event.

Steve Swell

Muzyka klezmerska przemiawia do mnie, ale czuję też wady i problemy tej muzyki, związane również z moją tożsamością. Myślę o tym, by dotrzeć do muzyki żydowskiej w kontekście free jazzu, ale mam też lęk przed podejściem do niej w ten sposób.

Klezmer music is something I understand, but I see downsides and problems of this kind of music. Problems connected with my identitiy as well. I think of reaching Jewish music in the context of free jazz, but I also feel anxiety of doing so.

Olie Brice

Wychowałem się w Londynie i identyfikowałem z poczuciem zagubienia wielu emigrantów w moim własnym kraju, ale później nie traktowałem już tego tak poważnie, ponieważ odnalazłem się w muzyce. Oni również odnaleźli radość przez muzykę i miłość do własnej kultury. Odczuwam radość z poznawania ludzi na całum świecie, ponieważ jesteśmy jedną ludzką rasą.

I was raised in London and shared a feeling of being lost, experienced by many immigrants in my country. After some time I have stopped treating this seriously, as I have found myidentity in the music. They /immigrants/ found joy through music and love for their own culture as well. I am very happy to meet people all around the world as we are one human race.

Mark Sandersen

0 Responses to “Wtorek / Tuesday”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other subscribers


Projekt finansowany ze środków Ministerstwa Kultury i Dziedzictwa Narodowego


Patronat honorowy




Patronat medialny